Makers

NZ-made candles: eight makers, and what their own sites say

Six of the eight New Zealand candle makers we checked state on their own site where their candles are made: Golden Bay, Warkworth, Wellington, the Wairarapa and Tauranga. Two do not. Below is what each one publishes about wax, burn time, price and delivery, with the page we read and the date we read it.

Last checked 15 September 2026 against Living Light Candles

Updated · About 7 minutes to read · Written by NZ Candles

Makers checked
8
All on their own websites
State where they pour
6 of 8
In their own words
Publish a burn time
4 of 8
For at least one product
Checked
15 Sep 2026
Re-checked quarterly

Which NZ candle makers say where their candles are poured?

Six of the eight. Living Light says "Handmade in Golden Bay, New Zealand". Earth Candles gives a Warkworth street address. National Candles says it is "proudly producing locally made candles right here in Wellington" and publishes its Te Aro factory address. NŌLA says the team "hand pour each and every candle from our home" in the Wairarapa. Nevé says "Hand-Poured in Tauranga".

Two of the eight did not say, on the pages we read. Candle Crush's home page describes its wax in detail but does not state where the candles are made. Amberjack gives a Paeroa address but does not say the candles are poured there. That is not an accusation — it may well be on a page we did not open, and either maker can tell us and we will update this. It does mean that on the evidence we have, we could not describe those two as New Zealand made, and neither should anyone else. The Commerce Commission's position is that a "Made in New Zealand" claim must be "accurate, able to be substantiated and must not mislead consumers".

The makers, and what each one publishes

Eight NZ candle makers, from their own websites, 15 September 2026
MakerWhere they say it's madeWax they stateFree shipping overPublished burn time
Living LightGolden BaySoy and beeswax ranges$100 (their site excludes Waiheke)Not published on the pages we read
Earth CandlesWarkworth100% pure soy wax$120Wine bottle candle 360g: up to 80 hours
National CandlesTe Aro, WellingtonSoy and beeswax ranges$120Seven Hour Candles: 7 hours
NŌLA CandlesWairarapaPlant-based soy, no paraffin$125Not published on the pages we read
NevéTauranga100% natural soy waxNo threshold; $9.99 flat rateLarge 320g: up to 65 hours
Candle CrushNot stated on the pages we read100% natural, sustainable soy wax$40Not published on the pages we read
AmberjackNot stated; Paeroa address givenNot stated on the pages we read$99Not published on the pages we read
Lucy KingNot stated on the page we read100% natural soy wax$100250ml: about 55 hours

Every figure is quoted from the maker's own site on 15 September 2026 and may have changed since. Where a cell says "not stated", it means it was not on the page we read — not that it isn't true.

Who is each one best for?

  • Living Light — you want the origin stated flatly on the home page, and a choice between soy and beeswax.
  • Earth Candles — the longest published burn time we found: 360g in a recycled wine bottle, up to 80 hours, $68.
  • National Candles — plain, cheap candles from a Wellington factory that gives its street address. Seven Hour Candles from $7.
  • NŌLA — a small home-poured range where the maker is specific about what is and is not in the wax.
  • Nevé — a big 320g candle, up to 65 hours at $58, and a subscription you can set to every one, two or three months.
  • Candle Crush — the clearest delivery promise of any NZ candle shop we checked: free over $40, next business day to the North Island for orders before 10am.
  • Amberjack — candles from $26 alongside a perfume range, if you want both from one maker.
  • Lucy King — the cheapest candle club we found at $40 a delivery, with the burn time published.

Why isn't there a winner?

Because we would be making it up. Every "top 10 NZ candles" article we found is published by a candle brand about its own competitors, which is a conflict of interest nobody discloses well. We have not burnt any of these candles side by side under the same conditions, so we have no basis for ranking their scent throw, their burn quality or their value beyond the arithmetic on what a candle costs per hour.

What we can do is show you the same facts for all eight in one table, with the date we checked them, so you can compare on the things that are actually comparable: where it's made, what the wax is, how long it says it burns and what the delivery costs.

How this page will change when we start stocking candles

We are opening wholesale accounts with New Zealand makers. When the first ones are signed, this page keeps every maker on it, including the ones we don't stock, and each row gains a plain label saying whether we sell that maker's candles. The rows we sell will link to our own product page as well as the maker's site. Nothing gets removed for being a competitor, and nothing moves up the table for being one of ours — the order stays alphabetical by the date we first checked them.

The makers, one by one

Each card below carries only what we read on the maker's own site, the page we read it on and the date. There are no ratings, no rankings and no "recommended" badges here, because we have no basis for any of them: we have not burned these candles side by side, and none of these businesses has endorsed this page.

Disclosure: we stock none of these makers. We have no wholesale account with any of them, no affiliate or referral arrangement with any of them, and we earn nothing if you click through and buy. When that changes, this line changes with it and every maker we stock is labelled on their card.

Living Light Candles

We don't stock this maker

Their site says: Handmade in Golden Bay, New Zealand — Golden Bay.

Someone who wants a maker that states plainly where the candles are made, and sells both soy and beeswax.

  • Wax, as they state it: Soy, Beeswax
  • Free shipping on NZ orders over $100 (their site excludes Waiheke)
  • Soy candles
  • Beeswax candles
  • Room sprays

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

Earth Candles

We don't stock this maker

Their site says: Warkworth, just north of Auckland — Warkworth, north of Auckland.

Long burn times from a recycled glass vessel, and one of the few NZ makers that publishes an hours figure.

  • Wax, as they state it: 100% pure soy wax
  • Free shipping on NZ orders over $120
  • Wine bottle candles (360g, their site says up to 80 hours, $68)
  • Beer bottle tealights (100g, their site says about 25 hours)
  • Wholesale by enquiry

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

National Candles

We don't stock this maker

Their site says: proudly producing locally made candles right here in Wellington — Te Aro, Wellington.

Plain, inexpensive candles from a Wellington factory that gives its street address.

  • Wax, as they state it: Soy, Beeswax
  • Free shipping on all orders over $120
  • Soy and beeswax ranges
  • Seven Hour Candles from $7
  • Dinner and pillar candles

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

NŌLA Candles

We don't stock this maker

Their site says: hand pour each and every candle from our home — Wairarapa.

A small home-poured range where the maker is explicit about what is and is not in the wax.

  • Wax, as they state it: Natural plant-based soy wax, which their site says is free from paraffin, GMO and unnatural additives
  • Free shipping on NZ orders over $125
  • Scented soy candles from $27
  • Room sprays

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

Nevé

We don't stock this maker

Their site says: Hand-Poured in Tauranga — Tauranga.

Someone who wants a big wood-wick candle and a maker that publishes both the weight and the burn hours.

  • Wax, as they state it: 100% natural soy wax
  • $9.99 flat-rate NZ shipping, or pick-up in Tauranga (no free-shipping threshold on the page we read)
  • Large candles (320g, their site says up to 65 hours, $58)
  • A candle subscription billed every one, two or three months

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

Candle Crush

We don't stock this maker

Where these candles are made was not statedon the page we read. That is not a criticism — it may be elsewhere on their site. It does mean we can't tell you it's NZ-made.

The clearest delivery promise of any NZ candle shop we checked, and the lowest free-shipping threshold.

  • Wax, as they state it: 100% natural, sustainable soy wax
  • Free NZ delivery on orders $40 and over, $9.90 under that; next business day to the North Island for orders before 10am Mon–Fri, 2–3 business days to the South Island, rural adds a day
  • Scented soy candles from $17.90
  • Larger candles around $39.90–$54.90
  • Reed diffusers

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

Amberjack

We don't stock this maker

Where these candles are made was not statedon the page we read. That is not a criticism — it may be elsewhere on their site. It does mean we can't tell you it's NZ-made.

A candle-and-fragrance range run from Paeroa, if you want the scent line as well as the candle.

  • Free shipping on NZ orders over $99
  • Candles from $26
  • Perfumes

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

Lucy King

We don't stock this maker

Where these candles are made was not statedon the page we read. That is not a criticism — it may be elsewhere on their site. It does mean we can't tell you it's NZ-made.

The cheapest single-maker candle club we found, with the burn time published.

  • Wax, as they state it: 100% natural soy wax
  • Free shipping on NZ orders over $100
  • 250ml candles, their site says about 55 hours
  • A monthly candle club at $40 (regular price $50)

Read on their own siteChecked 15 September 2026No affiliate link — we earn nothing from this

Something wrong, or you'd rather not be listed? Every card links to our contact page and we'll correct or remove an entry on request, no argument.

Frequently asked questions

Are all of these candles made in New Zealand?

Six of the eight say so on their own site, in the words quoted in the table. Two did not say, on the pages we read, so we can't tell you either way. If you need certainty, ask the maker directly — and see how to tell a candle is made in NZ for the questions worth asking.

Do you get paid if I buy from one of these makers?

No. We looked for an affiliate or referral programme from an NZ-made candle maker and found none, so every link on this page is a plain outbound link with nothing attached. If that ever changes, the link will carry a sponsored tag and this answer will say so.

Why isn't [my favourite maker] on this list?

Because we haven't opened their site and read it yet. This started with eight and grows as we check more, properly, one at a time. Tell us who's missing on our contact page and we'll add them to the queue.

Is this your business, and you want the entry changed?

Send us the correction on our contact page and we'll update it or remove the entry, whichever you prefer. We don't need a reason. Everything here came from your public website, but you know your own business better than we do.

How often is this table re-checked?

Quarterly, and the "checked on" date at the top of the page changes when it happens. Prices and shipping thresholds move, so treat anything older than a few months as a starting point rather than a quote.

Sources

  1. Living Light Candles — home page — last checked 15 September 2026
  2. Earth Candles — home page — last checked 15 September 2026
  3. National Candles — home page — last checked 15 September 2026
  4. NŌLA Candles — home page — last checked 15 September 2026
  5. Nevé — large candle subscription — last checked 15 September 2026
  6. Candle Crush — home page — last checked 15 September 2026
  7. Candle Crush — delivery times and costs — last checked 15 September 2026
  8. Amberjack — home page — last checked 15 September 2026
  9. Lucy King — monthly candle club subscription — last checked 15 September 2026
  10. Commerce Commission — reminder to businesses about 'Made in New Zealand' claims — last checked 15 September 2026
Made in New Zealand

The shop isn't open yet. Want to know when it is?

One email when the first New Zealand makers are on the shelf, and nothing else. In the meantime, the makers' own shops are open today.